Posted in Poetry

For My Lover

Beneath your black sweats and blue jean,

What is it you hide?

I know deceit is not your intent

But sure there must be scars:

Those long sustained and freshly made

Those wholly healed and partly so

 

If someday beneath those sheets

I stroked that spot a bit too hard

Will blood spill in trickles or gushes?

Will you pour curses on my passion?

Or discern you’d never healed?

 

In your sugar-coated lines,

I hear the poetry of unrequited love

In the cackles of your laughter,

I hear the distant cries of betrayal’s sting

And sometimes when you smile, fear invades your eyes

Your gestures humming the sound- “Don’t leave me this time”

 

I love you anyway

With every beat of my heart

With every hidden crevice

And all the broken pieces

Tomorrow when amidst kind stares

We exchange the golden circles

You’d be more than a husband

More than a lover and partner

More than a confidant and my private clown

YOU’D BE THE PARTS OF ME I CANNOT FIND

YOU’D BE EVERYTHING I LOVE BUT CANNOT BE

Author:

Poetry freak. Chemical engineer-in-training. Daughter of the Most High.

Leave a Reply

